Skip to content ›
City of St.Albert
Municipal Enforcement Header Image

Municipal Enforcement

The Municipal Enforcement Service maintains a strong relationship with the RCMP and works out of the St. Albert RCMP detachment. Duties include:

  • Enforcing the Traffic Safety Act including speeding, seat belt infractions, Transportation of Dangerous Goods Legislation and vehicle weight and dimension regulations.
  • Dealing with Traffic Bylaw violations, such as parking, road and sidewalk obstructions, prohibited off-highway vehicle use, Truck route enforcement, among others.
  • Enforcing the Animal Bylaw and investigating items such as: dog licensing requirements; loose, out of control and dangerous dogs; and nuisance animal complaints, including excessive barking.
  • Enforcing various other Municipal Bylaws and Provincial Statutes including the Community Standards Bylaw, Noise Bylaw, Parks Bylaw, Trespass to Premises Act, Animal Protection Act, portions of the Gaming and Liquor Act and Environmental Protection and Enhancement Act.

The officers in the unit have been appointed as Community Peace Officers (level 1) through the Alberta Solicitor General and Public Security Officer Program under the authority of the Peace Officer Act. For more information on this program, visit the Solicitor General and Public Security website.

Section Links
Photo Enforcement
Animal Bylaw
Dog Information
Cat Information
Sign Information
Alarm Systems

Last edited: September 17, 2018

Return to the top ↑