Regional Transit Services Commission

Nine municipalities in the Edmonton Metropolitan region are moving forward with delivering integrated transit services through a potential Regional Transit Service Commission. The initial exploration included researching the overall feasibility of an integrated-service approach that aims to deliver efficient and affordable transit options for riders throughout the region.

Why consider creating a Regional Transit Commission?

Public transportation is a critical service that warrants regional consideration. As cities and communities continue to attract more people, demand for appealing and viable public transit alternatives for commuters continues to grow.

Municipal transit system providers face changing mobility preferences and shifts to regional economies that can make planning and forecasting transit services at the local level challenging.

In addition, the following considerations are worth examining at a regional level:  

  • The number of daily transit trips in the region has increased by nearly 9,000 since 2005, while the number of automobile trips has increased by about 236,000. That is one transit trip for every 26 automobile trips.
  • Population impacts on our infrastructure and services may become more pronounced. For example, the regional forecast for 2020 population is 1.5M and by 2065, this is expected to reach 3M people, with 2M people in the City of Edmonton and 1M people in the region.
  • Regional employment is forecasted to grow from 767,000 to 1.5M jobs, reinforcing the need for efficient and effective transportation to support an increasing population.

What was considered as part of the regional transit service commission business case?

The Regional Transit Service Commission business case examined the possibility for:

  • Convenient, cost-effective and extensive service across municipalities
  • Integrated customer experience through improved community connections

This consideration was based on data, costing and mapping of current local transit systems provided by each of the participating municipalities.

Update October 16, 2020

The Regional Transit Services Commission (RTSC) Interim Board is working on two primary milestones for 2020; approval from The Government of Alberta to legally form the commission and the selection of a Chief Executive Officer (CEO).

RTSC Enters Next Phase

Job posting for the RTSC Chief Executive Officer.

RTSC Report – January 22, 2020

Accelerating Transit in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region Report 

Accelerating Transit in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region Executive Summary

In the Spring of 2020, the Regional Transit Services Commission Transition Team developed an addendum document to the Accelerating Transit in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region: Building a Regional Transit Services Commission final report released on January 22, 2020. The addendum outlines updated routes and figures included in the RTSC business case. These revisions reflect the removal of services previously incorporated to serve Strathcona County, Leduc County and Sturgeon County. Like the original report, the document serves to demonstrate the viability of a Commission in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region based on which municipalities have chosen to participate.

Accelerating Transit in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region
Addendum – June 1, 2020


Municipalities who have chosen to join the commission jointly sponsored a proposal to the Government of Alberta to establish the Commission under Provincial Regulation. The application includes the final report and addendum, along with supporting documentation of capital plans and bylaws.

The following municipalities are represented on the provincial application: City of Beaumont, Town of Devon, City of Edmonton, City of Fort Saskatchewan, City of Leduc, Town of Morinville, City of St. Albert, City of Spruce Grove, and Town of Stony Plain.

Read the news release: Regional Transit Services Commission reaches major milestone with application to the Province

Next Steps

If approved by the Province, the new Regional Transit Services Commission (RTSC) is intended to begin operating by 2022. Public engagement will be a key focus of the next phase of work to be done before the Commission is legally formed and begins operations in the Region.


In September 2017, City of Edmonton and City of St. Albert Councils signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to begin taking steps to develop a Regional Transit Services Commission. The other 11 Edmonton Metropolitan Region communities joined in October 2018.

To begin this work, the Government of Alberta awarded the City of Edmonton and City of St. Albert a $3.7 million Community Partnership Grant, as the initial signatories, to work with the region to analyze the feasibility of a potential Transit Commission.

The following 13 municipalities that signed the MOU are represented on the Regional Transit Services Commission Transition Team: Beaumont, Devon, Edmonton, Fort Saskatchewan, Leduc, Leduc County, Morinville, Parkland County, St. Albert, Spruce Grove, Strathcona County, Stony Plain, and Sturgeon County.

Related Pages

Last edited: October 16, 2020