Skip to content ›
City of St.Albert

St. Albert Policing Committee

Purpose: To maintain a proper balance between the independence and authority of the RCMP and accountability to the community and civilian authority through community input, increased transparency regarding policing operations, removal of political interference perceptions and assistance with dealing with local complaints.

Objective: To act as a liaison between City Council, the RCMP Detachment, the Policing Services Department and St. Albert residents to foster responsible community actions towards the creation of a safe and secure community.

St. Albert Policing Committee Bylaw

City Council approved the St. Albert Policing Committee Bylaw in June 2017 to officially establish a Policing Committee within St. Albert.

For complete information on the Committee’s Purpose, Duties, and Responsibilities, as well as the composition and operation of the Policing Committee, view the St. Albert Policing Committee Bylaw.

Committee Members

On December 4, 2017, St. Albert City Council appointed the following individuals to the St. Albert Policing Committee. 

Voting Members:

  • Councillor Sheena Hughes
  • Councillor Wes Brodhead (Alternate)
  • Allan Bohachyk – resident
  • Craig Cameron – resident
  • Dean Kurpjuweit – resident
  • LuAnne Sirdiak – resident
  • Dion Tarkowski – resident
  • Dr. Kristopher Wells – resident

Advisory Non-Voting Members:

  • St. Albert RCMP Officer in Charge Pamela Robinson
  • City of St. Albert General Manager, Community and Protective Services, Dale Bendfeld (on behalf of the City Manager)

The inaugural Policing Committee meeting is planned to take place in January 2018. The meeting agenda will be posted on this site at least five (5) days prior to the meeting.

Policing Committee Agendas and Minutes


Last edited: January 11, 2018

Return to the top ↑