Deputy Mayor Roster

As per Procedure Bylaw 35/2009:

Annually at the City Council Organizational Meeting, Council shall establish the Deputy Mayor roster for a two-month period on a rotating basis.

The following roster was established at the City Council Organizational Meeting held on October 24, 2022:

YearMonthsDeputy Mayor
2022November & DecemberCouncillor Wes Brodhead
2023January & FebruaryCouncillor Natalie Joly
2023March & AprilCouncillor Sheena Hughes
2023May & JuneCouncillor Shelley Biermanski
2023July & AugustCouncillor Ken MacKay
2023September & OctoberCouncillor Mike Killick

Relevant passages from the Bylaw:

9.1 - Unless otherwise determined by council, during the twelve-month period following the organizational meeting, each member of council shall serve as deputy mayor for a two-month period, as assigned to that member of council at the organizational meeting.

9.2 - The deputy mayor shall chair council meetings when the mayor is absent or unable to act as mayor and shall have all the powers and responsibilities of the mayor under this bylaw during the absence or incapacity of the mayor.

9.3 - The deputy mayor may chair meetings of committee of the whole when delegated by the mayor.

9.4 - In the absence or inability of the mayor and deputy mayor to act, the next member of council scheduled to be deputy mayor on the roster shall chair council meetings and shall have all the powers and responsibilities of the mayor under this bylaw.

Related Pages

Last edited: October 24, 2022