Skip to content ›
City of St.Albert
Election Results 2017 Header Image

Election Results 2017

On October 16, 2017, an outstanding 42.9 per cent of eligible St. Albert voters came out to elect their new Mayor and City Council. The official results released on Friday, October 20, announced the following successful candidates:

City Council


  • Cathy Heron


  • Wes Brodhead
  • Jacquie Hansen
  • Sheena Hughes
  • Natalie Joly
  • Ray Watkins
  • Ken Mackay

School Board Trustees

St. Albert Public School District 5565

  • Glenys Edwards
  • Sheri Wright
  • Cheryl Dumont
  • Kim Armstrong
  • Stanley Haroun

St. Albert Roman Catholic Separate School District No. 734

  • Joan Crockett
  • Serena Shaw
  • Joe Becigneul
  • Greg Schell

Ballot Questions

Electors also had the chance to cast their vote on three potential capital projects: a branch library, a 6th sheet of ice, and an additional aquatic space, all of which are on the City’s 10-Year Capital Plan. The results were as follows:

  • Branch Library – No
  • 6th Ice Surface – No
  • Additional aquatic space – Yes

See 2017 Election Official Results for a breakdown of votes by voting station.

The new City Council is currently participating in an orientation program hosted by Administration and will take part in an organizational meeting on October 30, 2017. Their first regular Council meeting is on November 6 at 2 p.m. All Council meetings are streamed online.

For more information on the results of the election, visit the City website at

Last edited: October 24, 2017

Return to the top ↑