For Immediate Release / November 19, 2021

Mayor Elected, Councillor Honoured, Alberta Municipalities' Resolution Approved

During the Alberta Municipalities 2021 Annual Convention, which took place from November 17 to 19 in Edmonton, the City of St. Albert played a key role.

On November 19, 2021, St. Albert Mayor Cathy Heron was elected President of the Association. Mayor Heron will serve a two-year term. The President is responsible for overseeing the activities of Alberta Municipalities and for presiding over all meetings of the Alberta Municipalities Board and its members. Prior to her election as President, Mayor Heron served as Vice-President for cities with populations up to 500,000.

On November 18, St. Albert City Councillor Wes Brodhead received a long-service Award of Excellence for outstanding civic leadership. Some of his notable accomplishments include his tireless advocacy of public transit and the instrumental role he played in developing the Edmonton Metropolitan Transit Services Commission.

Also on November 18, St. Albert City Council seconded two resolutions related to Alberta Municipalities’ strategic initiatives and important to Alberta communities:

  • Online Voting for Municipal Elections (moved by City of Lethbridge) was defeated, with 56% of members in opposition;
  • Tobacco Industry Health Cost Recovery Fee (moved by City of Airdrie) received 81% member approval

For more information on Alberta Municipalities (formerly known as the AUMA), visit their website at

- 30 -

Related Pages

Last edited: December 14, 2021