Skip to content ›
City of St.Albert
Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts Awards Recipients - 2019 Header Image

For Immediate Release | March 22, 2019

Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts Awards Recipients - 2019

Awards presented at 10th anniversary event on March 21

The City of St. Albert is pleased to announce the recipients of the annual Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts Awards for 2019.

“The arts play such a vital role in our community,” says St. Albert Mayor Cathy Heron. “It is an honour to be part of this program and to acknowledge some of the incredible contributions and achievements we are seeing in the arts.”

The Lifetime Achievement in the Arts award was presented to internationally acclaimed artist Lewis Lavoie. Mr. Lavoie is a painter and creator of the mural mosaic concept. Together with a team of contributing artists, he has created over 200 community murals in locations that span the globe. Two of these murals are found in the Musée Heritage Museum and his mural mosaic adorns Lois Hole School. Mr. Lavoie has illustrated two books and served as artist in residence at many local schools.
The other award recipients are:

  • Arts Champion: 2 recipients: Phil Alain and the St. Albert Amplify Festival Youth Advisory Committee
  • Emerging Artist: Stephen Badry
  • Established Artist: Samantha Williams-Chapelsky
  • Excellence in Arts Teaching: Louise Petersen
  • Youth Artist: Hailey Benedict

The City received 41 nominations in the six award categories. All award recipients received an original work of art by a St. Albert artist and a $1,000 monetary award.

The awards were held on March 21 in partnership with Night of Artists. The awards celebrate outstanding achievements among artists, arts champions and community leaders.

For more information on the awards program, including biographies of the nominees, visit the Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts page.

- 30 -

Return to the top ↑