For Immediate Release / October 22, 2021

Official 2021 Election Results

The City of St. Albert officially announces the following candidates have been declared elected. Where more than one candidate has been elected to each position, the elected candidates are listed in order of votes received. For complete details, see the attached election report. Please note these results are now official.  

City Mayor (1) 
Cathy Heron 

City Councillor (6) 
Sheena Hughes  
Ken MacKay  
Wes Brodhead 
Natalie Joly 
Mike Killick 
Shelley Biermanski 

The following are to be officially declared by Greater St. Albert Catholic Schools and St. Albert Public Schools. The results listed below reflect the votes cast by St. Albert residents.  

Catholic School Trustee – Ward 1, Greater St. Albert Roman Catholic Separate School District No. 734 (4) 
Serena Shaw 
Lydia Yeomans 
Greg Schell 
Joe Becigneul 

Public School Trustee – St. Albert Public School District 5565 (5) 
Kim Armstrong 
Kristi Rouse 
Stanley Haroun 
John Allen 
Sheyanne Levall-Crouse 

The following are the unofficial results of St. Albert’s contribution to the Government of Alberta’s Senate and referendum vote.  

Senate Nominees (3) 
Doug A. Horner 
Pam Davidson 
Erika Barootes 

Referendum Question 1 – Equalization 
“Should section 36(2) of the Constitution Act, 1982 – Parliament and the government of Canada’s commitment to the principle of making equalization payments – be removed from the constitution?” 
Yes (53.1 per cent) 

Referendum Question 2 – Daylight Saving Time  
“Do you want Alberta to adopt year-round Daylight Saving Time, which is summer hours, eliminating the need to change our clocks twice a year?”  
No (57.7 per cent) 

Municipal Election Voter Feedback 

The City is collecting Municipal Election voter feedback. The survey will be open until November 19, 2021 and can be accessed online at Survey results will be analyzed and used to inform decisions regarding the 2025 Municipal Election. After the close of the survey, a “What We Heard Report” will be published and shared with Council. 

For more information on the Municipal Election, visit the City website at  


- 30 -

Related Pages

Last edited: October 22, 2021