Collaborative Economic Development

Working together to attract investment

13 regional Mayors have signed a memorandum of understanding committing to work in partnership on developing a new way to work together to attract investment in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region. This model is the Collaborative Economic Development (CED) initiative, which is intended to advance economic opportunities through new, non-residential growth and jobs for participating municipalities across municipal boundaries in the Edmonton Metropolitan region.

By signing this MOU, all 13 Mayors demonstrate a commitment to choose a cooperative path forward on economic development for our region. Municipal participation overall and on each project is voluntary.


City of Beaumont Town of Devon City of Edmonton
City of Fort Saskatchewan City of Leduc Leduc County
Town of Morinville Parkland County City of Spruce Grove
City of St. Albert Town of Stony Plain Strathcona County
Sturgeon County    

Next Steps

One of the first steps will be for the municipalities to build out the model together so that necessary discussions can occur and the data required to meet our goal can be reviewed. Once more details are available, additional stakeholders will be invited to participate if they so choose.


Related Pages

Last edited: May 14, 2021