The St. Albert Heritage Site presents the opportunity to interpret a rich complexity of stories: the Hudson’s Bay Company role in preparing the West for settlement, the influence of the Roman Catholic Church and its missionaries settling nomadic people into agrarian settlements, the culture and history of the Metis, the river lot system of land use, the arrival of French-Canadians, and the agricultural, social and economic development of the St. Albert area as represented by the railway and the grain elevators.
These broad stories interweave and hold a piece of the larger settlement story that are greatly important to the identity of St. Albert. Read more about the Heritage sites, and their future in this great community.
Built in 1921, the Banque d’Hochelaga is located at 19 Perron Street, and is the current location for the Art Gallery of St. Albert. The Banque d’ Hochelaga is owned by the City and is designated as a Municipal Historical Resource.
Father Lacombe Chapel
In 1861, Father Albert Lacombe and his Métis helpers constructed a log building to serve the new St. Albert Roman Catholic Mission. This simple chapel, Alberta's oldest building, became the centre of the thriving French speaking Metis settlement of St. Albert. Today the chapel has been restored to look much as it did in the early 1860s. For more information call 780-459-1528 or visit the Father Lacombe Chapel webpage.
Grain Elevators Train Station
Explore St Albert’s past at the Grain Elevator Park and Train Station. Provincially designated grain elevators, the 1906 Brackman Ker Elevator and 1929 Alberta Wheat Pool Elevator were restored in 2011 and represent a rich part of Alberta’s history. Through a partnership agreement between the City and the Arts and Heritage Foundation, the foundation oversees the management and operations of this valuable part of St. Albert’s heritage. The City of St. Albert has been fortunate to be able to maintain this part of our community’s history, be sure to stop by for a tour.
For more information call 780-459-1528 or visit the Grain Elevators webpage.
Set in the oldest residential district in St. Albert, this quaint black and white house at 9 Mission Ave. looks like the most peaceful place in the world. Named for the original owners, it's the oldest house in St. Albert. Juneau House is one of the City’s Municipal Historical Resources and is current home to Michif Cultural Connections (formerly Michif Cultural Resources Institute).
Little White School
Step back to 1948 with a visit to the Little White School. See what life was like in this little two-room school house when the school first opened. One of the City’s Municipal Historical Resources, this is a stop not to be missed while in St. Albert. For more information call 780-459-1528 or visit the Little White School webpage.
Michif Cultural Connections (formerly Michif Cultural Resources Institute)
Located at 9 Mission Avenue in the historic Juneau House, Michif Cultural Connections showcases a collection of Métis specific items as well as a pictorial history. It is their mandate to protect, preserve and promote the Métis of St. Albert and Alberta and their role in shaping our lives as they are today. Michif Cultural Connections houses a Métis Living Museum, Library and Craft shop featuring only local Métis and First Nations Artisans.
St. Albert Place
Located in the heart of downtown St. Albert, St. Albert Place became a historical landmark on June 12, 2009. The building's designer, internationally renowned architect Douglas J. Cardinal, is well known for his aesthetically pleasing work and personal philosophy of enhancing the natural beauty of the land he builds on. For St. Albert Place, Cardinal took his signature curvilinear style along with inspiration from the winding Sturgeon River to create this one of a kind work of architectural art.
Photo Credit: Little White School, 1949, Grey Nun’s Archives, Soeurs Grises de Montreal, L016-Y1-p23A
Last edited: January 7, 2019